Bad Advice from the Alliance Defense Fund

The Alliance Defense Fund (ADF) has, in the past, given some good advice and done some noteworthy things. Their latest project is not such a case. According to an article today (9/8/08) in the Washington Post, ADF attorney Erik Stanley indicates that they are recruiting and encouraging several dozen pastors to endorse a candidate from the pulpit on September 28.

I strongly believe that the whole issue of “Separation of Church and State” has been misunderstood, mis-taught, and basically twisted to fit the liberal left’s agenda. But that aside, I don’t believe this is the answer. Using the pulpit, the place where the pure Gospel of Jesus Christ is to be proclaimed each time it is occupied, to endorse candidates is simply wrong; If not constitutionally for sure morally and biblically. Paul said to the Corinthian Christians, For I determined to know nothing among you except Jesus Christ, and Him crucified.” (1 Cor 2:2) To use the pulpit to “preach” politics is a breach of the sacred truth the pastor has been given.

I have strong political views . . . anyone who knows me will attest to that . . . and will tell anyone who asks me, even those who are in my congregation. I’ve even been known to put a yard sign up or a candidate’s bumper sticker on my car. But I will not replace the teaching of God’s Word for partisan politics under any condition.

Tags:

2 Responses to “Bad Advice from the Alliance Defense Fund”

  1. Greg Scott Says:

    Hi Bill–

    I urge you to read Erik Stanley’s piece on Town Hall today.

    IRS Rules Don’t Trump the Constitution

  2. Bill Haynes Says:

    Greg, I have read Erik’s piece and even further I spoke with Erik earlier today before posting my response. An aside, I was Erik’s pastor when he was with the Liberty Counsel in Orlando back in the late 1990s. So I know Erik well and appreciate him. I also agree with his statement that “IRS Rules Don’t Trump the Constitution.” However, even if the constitution would allow this, which is debatable . . . free exercise, freedom of speech, ect. This is a serious dereliction of a pastor’s call. Deal with issues from a Biblical exegesis but don’t get in the process of endorsing/opposing candidates.

    I’m sure from my preaching my congregation knows who I will pull the lever for . . . but that is based on expository preaching, not naming names.

Leave a Reply

