Free Press? Or folding to pressure?

I may be confessing a dark side of my personality but I like Saturday Night Live. Not all of it, but its political satire, while most of the time attacking my point of view, is usually really, really funny. I don’t get to watch SNL because of the fact it is on Saturday night, late. But I always go on Sunday afternoon or Monday and watch the political skits. You can watch them on NBC.com and also on Hulu.com.

This past week they had one of the funniest and most on-target skits that I have ever seen on SNL. They actually got more right than the main stream media usually does. You can imagine my surprise when I tried to show this to a friend today that the following appeared on my screen:

It seems that NBC has been pressured by the principals being depicted to remove it. It lampoons billionaire George Soros (calls him the owner of the Democratic Party), Herbert & Marion Sandler (As Todd Thurman at Heritage notes, the Sandlers are left-wing moguls who built “a mortgage company whose major product was subprime mortgages and they sold it to Wachovia for $24.2 billion in 2006), Nancy Pelosi, Barney Frank, and yes, even President Bush. It seems that it is OK to make fun of Sarah Palin and most Republicans, but if you poke fun at the Democrats you will incur the wrath of the powers that be.

But there are still some sites out there that have been able to keep this alive. I encourage you to go to CLICK HERE and watch the skit. You will be glad you did.

UPDATE: Evidently NBC has given in to the criticism and has reposted the clip. You can view it on NBC HERE

Leave a Reply

